stride rite Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At stride rite
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)

Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)

For the boy who is always on the go, this convenient Sperry Top-Sider slip-on is a must have! With a neoprene collar and lining for comfort, as well as a rubber toe bumper for durability and protection, this shoe will easily become his favorite. Rich suede upper Neoprene collar and lining Rubber toe bumper for durability and protection 30% recycled rubber outsole Available in medium and wide widths Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Review 1 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Clarksville, TN
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Great Shoes...Again

PostedDecember 10, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 8, 0-1, 10+
Second time I have purchased these for my son, who is 8. He loves them. Very comfortable, he tells me, and hold up great to a very active kiddo. :)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Nice to find a slip-on in a wide width

PostedDecember 6, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 8
My 8-year-old son loves this style of slip-on shoe, but he could never fit the other brands offering it with his wide foot. We were delighted to find this one in a wide width and it fits him great! The only problem was that it was difficult to find, as most stores and online sites were already sold out. I hope they continue to make it as we would buy it again in the future.
Review 3 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Great Shoe - but Arch Changed

PostedNovember 12, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 10+
My son wore these shoes for about three years (3 or 4 pairs). They are durable and come in hard-to-find wide widths. They were also much more comfortable on his arch than Merrell's. With our last order, however, the arch was unfortunately changed. He no longer likes the shoe with the higher arch. It may only be an issue for kids with flatter feet.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Sylvania, OH
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Great shoe, making my boys very happy!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 7, 10+
My 7 and 10 yr old boys both saw the picture and thought they were too "fancy" then tried them on and felt so comfortable they wanted to wear them right away! They are nice enough to be a dress shoe with nicer pants for church, but rugged and able to work for running on the playground at school! I'm thrilled my boys are happy with them.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Charleston
Myself: Mother

Great Shoe- Please make it in Tan

PostedAugust 20, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 8
My 8-year-old son has worn this shoe for years. I highly recommend this shoe to any active boy. My son wears them to school and says they are comfortable on the playground. He rather wear these to ride his scooter as well. They are truly an all-purpose shoe. He has a wide foot (we order WIDE) and never complains. ONLY reason I gave it four stars is the color. Please consider having these made in TAN as you did in the past.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Great School Shoe

PostedDecember 17, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 5
This is a great school shoe for boys. My five year old loves that they're comfortable, easy to get on, and still allow him to run around on the playground at school. I like that they look good with his school uniform and can also be work with jeans or other casual pants. My son is very hard on shoes, so hopefully these will last until his foot grows again.
Review 7 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

We love these shoes

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 7
My 7 yr old has been wearing these slip-on shoes - different sizes - from the time he was 2. This is our 6th pair. And we will continue. They are so comfortable and look really good. They last long as well, considering they are meant for the age group that never sits still. Absolutely love these shoes.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Perfect for wide feet and boys!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 4, 9
My son has been known to wear through the toes on his shoes. These shoes are great as they have a rubber cover over the toe. These are our go to shoes
Review 9 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

School Shoe

PostedApril 11, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 9
My son go to a private school and have to wear uniform shoes. The regular uniform shoes are slip-ons but do not come in a narrow width. My son has narrower feet and narrow feet and slip-on shoes are not a great match. Although these shoes don't come in narrow either, the heel is built much better than most shoes and fits tighter than any other slip-on we tried (and we tried more than I can remember). This shoe wore really well and I have a very rough and tumble boy. He reported that it was really comfortable and was more than willing to order another pair for next year. Although the one pair did make it through the entire year (being worn every single day!) I think I'll order two for next year just to take some pressure off of us in case we can't find one in the morning.
Review 10 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
1 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Customer Avatar

good for school uniforms only, and runs big

PostedDecember 27, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 5, 2
Pretty decent shoe for black only school uniforms. Not all that fancy, but good for tough kids that need to wear non-sneakers black shoes every day. Beware - runs about one whole size big I think.
Review 11 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Customer Avatar

Slip on shoes

PostedAugust 22, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 5, 8, 10+
My son loves these shoes! These are the 2nd pair of these type of shoes he's had. The first pair were the darker brown. Decided to get the lighter, hopefully they won't get too dirty looking. This is the only place I can always get shoes that actually fit my 5 year olds wide feet. He only wears shoes when he absolutely has to and he loves these. He can put them on by himself - I love that. He wears them with or without socks. I never hear complaints about hurting feet in StrideRite shoes.
Review 12 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Cayman Islands
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

best school shoes yet

PostedAugust 3, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 6
My son always has probs trying to find a comfortable school shoe. And these have definitely fit the bill. He is so used to slippers and sandals for the summer that when it comes time to fit into closed toe shoes he hates it. But these shoes are so soft and smooth. With just the right amount of hold to keep the feet in the shoes. Usually he has shoes with laces or velcro that he has to use to get just the right fit. But some how these shoes mold his feet just right. Usually, it's his little toe that has the hardest time fitting into a shoe but this shoe does not rub or squeeze his little toe. His feet are a bit wide in the front and narrow in the back. And these shoes are great.
Review 13 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ

Excellent in comfort and style

PostedFebruary 15, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 7, 5, 10+
My first grader loves these shoes so much, he has worn out the soles of the shoes; the shoe itself is still in perfect shape. Now that it is time for a bigger pair of shoes, he specifically requested these shoes; THAT is a testament to a comfortable shoe! As a mother of 4 boys, these are some of the best made shoes I have ever purchased.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sperry Top-Sider Oakam (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

A must have shoe for my son for years.

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 6, 8
My son loves these shoes so much he has had a pair (or more when he was growing fast) every fall/winter since he was 2. He is now 8. Great shoe, wears great!