stride rite Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At stride rite
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at stride rite.

Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)

There is no terrain too rugged for the well-equipped Wet Tech Fisherman by Sperry Top-Sider. A leather and neoprene upper and rubber toe guard protect feet from the elements, multi-direction lugs provide stability on rocky surfaces and a lightweight midsole with screened water drain openings keep feet dry and comfortable. Leather and neoprene upper Rubber toe bumper Lightweight EVA midsole with GripX technology Adaptive Wave Siping&#153 helps to disperse water underfoot to reduce slippage Perforated upper allows water to drain Available in medium and wide widths Imported
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 1173%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Review 1 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Not a good fit

PostedJune 5, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 7, 0-1
I bought these for my 7 year old daughter. The back of this shoe comes up too high on her and causes a sore on the back of her heel. She obviously refuses to wear them because of this and I'm stuck with a brand new $50 pair of shoes that can't be returned...or worn.
Review 2 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Great shoes

PostedMay 28, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 7, 5, 3
I bought these shoes for my 7 year old daughter, and they look great. Wonderful quality, and look great. I always buy these shoes for my kids every summer and they always hold up. Would recommend.
Review 3 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

great shoes, runs a bit big

PostedMay 20, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 4, 2
My daughter's normal shoe size is 11.5 wide. In these shoes she is an 11 regular. These shoes are already a little wide. When exchanged for the 11 regular, perfect fit. She loves them! Great shoes!
Review 4 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Los Altos, CA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Not for play

PostedMay 8, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 5, 8
I second the comment about smelly feet. Bought these shoes for wearing in the summer on normal days in addition to water play. Bad choice. Sole and feet get smelly after wearing once or twice. My child is now not willing to wear them without socks. Regret paying so much for basically a pair of water shoes.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
Gender: male
Myself: Father

Smelly feet

PostedJune 13, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 5
My kids like the shoe. However, they are extremely difficult to put on because the opening for the foot is too small. My 5 year old needs help putting them on, which is frustrating for both of us. It's the first time she needs help with any shoe in over a year.
After playing in the shoe outside of water for a few minutes, the shoe causes my kids' feet to smell BADLY (we bought two pairs - same result). This should be viewed as a pure water shoe without versatility for any other use. I'm writing this review to warn the other parents because you will not discover the flaw until after your child wears the shoe. Then you are stuck like me with $50 down the drain and a child with stinky feet. I used to be loyal to Stride-rite but this experience leaves a bad taste in my mouth (and smell in my nose). I would never pay $50 for a pure water sandal that my kids can't play in.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
1 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from NY
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

size runs big!

PostedApril 22, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 5, 8, 2
I had to pop in to be helpful to others ordering online. These shoes run almost a full size large. I ordered my girls Stride Rite sneakers in a 1 and they fit great. This shoe in a size 1 was HUGE (it fit more like a 2). So much so that they looked like clown shoes. It was a pain that I had to mail back. Just got the size 13 (which I was worried wouldn't fit at all) and they are perfect. Otherwise, love the shoe. The interior is soft and comfortable. These will be great for walking around this summer at the water parks!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Littleton, CO
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Daughter loves it

PostedMarch 18, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 5, 8
We picked the purple and lime color and my daughter absolutely loves these! The colors are vivid and she said they are very comfortable. They do run just a tad wide, but still fits her just fine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too big
Too big
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Cute Shoe

PostedApril 9, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 7, 0-1
I ordered this shoe for my 7-year-old. We like them, but they run big. But I'm not too worried because she'll grow into them. I love that the toes are covered so she can wear them to school as "tennis shoes" for gym class, but they're open and breathable for the hotter months.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
Too Wide
Wide
Customer Avatar
from East Northport, NY
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Great looking shoe

PostedNovember 14, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 6, 8
I have these for my son and my daughter wanted them for our vacation. Unfortunately, I could not find them in the store so I had to order online. They were much too big for her and she was disappointed. I'll hold on to them and maybe they'll fit her next summer.
Review 10 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Too small
1 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Old Tappan, Nj
Gender: female
Myself: Other

PostedJune 14, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 10+
Overall, these were very good shoes. Although, there are a down sides. First, the tongue cannot stretch out that far, so it pokes into the foot when you walk or run. It can get very itchie. It kind of I put a band-aid there and it seems to be more comfortable. Another problem is that the shoe doesn't air out that well. It makes your feet very hot. These shoes are supposed to keep your feet dry, and it does. But still leaves your feet wet for a little longer than expected. Also get maybe 1/2 an inch smaller. They run big. These are very flexible and durable shoes!
Review 11 for Sperry Top-Sider Wet Tech Fisherman (Kid)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Northeaster MA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

great, lightweight summer sandals

PostedJune 6, 2011
What age(s) are your children? 4, 2, 10+
I bought these for my 2.5 year old daughter who is very big, looks like a 4 year old, and has wide feet. We usually get XW for her, but the W in these fit very nicely. They are very lightweight, and are great for running, climbing on rocks at the beach, or just playing in the backyard. They are great for getting wet, because the water drains out, and the material dries fairly quickly. I also bought a pair for my son, also big with wide feet, in a boys navy blue size 1 W, and they both choose these shoes when we are headed out anywhere. I highly recommend them!