stride rite Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At stride rite
Shop Stride rite or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)

Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)

Your little adventurer will be ready to blaze new trails in the Stride Rite Clayton. This rugged leather sneaker has mesh linings to keep his feet cool and an alternative closure for easy on/off. Leather upper Easy alternative closure Mesh linings for breathability Available in medium and wide widths Imported
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
7 out of 1164%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Review 1 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
1 Size too small
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Dayton, Oh
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Nice shoe

PostedApril 4, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 3
My 3 year old wears a 11 w in shoes the 11 w i ordered for him was to short and hurt his feet. i compared the Stride Rite shoe to his size 11 shoe from another store and the Stride Rite show was almost 1/2 inch shorter. I bought these for my son to wear to Church because they look casual but nice. I am reordering a size 12 w for him
Review 2 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from California
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Great hiking shoe for your toddler

PostedMarch 9, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 2
My 2.5 year old wears is a 8.5W. We purchased a 9W so he can grow into the shoe. That was a mistake because the 9 has slipped off his foot a handful of times, but this is my fault for not buying the right size.
The shoe has great traction on the soles which is perfect for the fall, winter and spring. My son wears these to the park and lake and the color hides the dirt and mud well.
I like how it is only one velcro strap per shoe. The velcro strap does lay flat on our pair. The only problem for us is that the velcro strap could be longer.
Review 3 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Parkville, MO
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Love these shoes

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 2
I bought these for my 2 year old for the fall/winter and am considering buying a 2nd pair because he's outgrown them too soon. These are a great looking shoe that can be dressed up or down. The tread provides for excellent traction (one of the reasons I bought them for the fall/winter). They fit my son's feet perfectly and they've worn very well, I have absolutely no complaints. A medium width in Stride Rite fit my son's feet perfectly but per other reviews it seems his feet may be on the narrow side (a medium width in Saucony is too wide)?
Review 4 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Stephens City, VA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Disappointed

PostedMay 26, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 5
Although I read earlier reviews about the velcro straps not laying flat, I still decided to make the purchase and take a chance. Unfortunately, I ended up with one of the shoe straps not closing properly...appearing buckled. My son found them to be uncomfortable and only wore them a handful of times. It is really too bad because they are nice looking shoes.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

poor closure and these are high tops

PostedDecember 27, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 4, 5, 3, 0-1
These shoes seemed to fit around the foot, but nowhere else. I couldn't get the velcro strap to lay flat. It just didn't match up right, once his foot was in the shoe. Also, they don't look it, but THESE ARE "HIGH TOPS". Stride Rite shoes ALWAYS fit my son, but since these come up higher than normal, they cut into his leg above the ankle. They went back, for sure.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Too small
1 Size too small
Too big
Customer Avatar
from indiana
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Very Skinny

PostedDecember 4, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 3
Bought this shoe for my son who has normal width feet and the velcro would barely go across his foot. It did not close at all.
Review 7 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Best casual shoe for a very active 4 year old boy

PostedNovember 19, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 4, 2
I have gone through so many pairs of shoes for my 4 year old son. He has been wearing these for about a month every day for school and they still look like the day i bought them. Very impressed with price also. I love that they offer various widths. My son has a long narrow foot that would slide around in other shoes causing falls. These fit like a glove and my son does not fall nearly as often.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too big
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from nashville
Gender: female
Myself: Grandmother

toddler clayton style

PostedNovember 10, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 2
I wish the shoe came in size 8. other than that is a very good choice for toddlers with velcro closing. can wear thicker socks which is good in winter and for support it cant be beat. rough and rowdy play - holds up to that standard. stylish enough for everyday and special wear under long pants. thanks
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from hampton roads va
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

good rugged school shoe

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 3
My 3 yr. old uses this shoe for school. He says it's comfortable and reaches for it each time. I bought it recently and thus far it has held up and appears to be made well. It's nice and airy with the mesh lining and has a nice rugged sole. The only thing I think could be improved about the shoe is that the closure is a little tough to pull all the way over almost as if the elastic is too rigid /short?
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
Myself: Mother

Looks Great

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 3
I love that my toddler can easily put these shoes on by himself. They fit well and look great. Sometimes he does miss getting the velcro on completly and they open, but he just reaches down and sticks it back on.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stride Rite Clayton (Toddler)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too small
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from New York
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Doesn't fit right

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 2, 3
At the same time I bought this shoe, I also bought the Xavier and the light up Spiderman shoes for my son. I ordered a 10 Medium in all 3 shoes, as my son does not have a wide foot. The Xavier and the spiderman sneakers both fit my son fine and he said they were comfortable. This shoe, although the same size as the other 2, was difficult to get on my son's foot, and he said it pinched his toes and hurt. I didn't like the Velcro fastener either, it was difficult to line it up correctly. I shipped it back this morning and am going to order one of the SRT preschool shoes instead.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.