stride rite Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At stride rite
Shop Stride rite or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at stride rite.

Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)

Your little athlete needs a sneaker that can keep up with his action-packed lifestyle, and the Stride Rite Bruce is just that. This leather and mesh pair is not only lightweight and super comfortable, but also features a hook-and-loop closure for easy on/off so he'll never be late for practice. Leather and mesh upper Easy hook-and-loop closure Mesh linings for breathability Available in medium and wide widths Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Review 1 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
What age(s) are your children? 3
I didn't read the reviews before purchasing this style, the shoe just looked really nice and the sale price was appealing! I just read through the reviews and they hit spot on. The shoe is stiff and really hard to get into. Thank goodness my 3 yr old son as learned to push his foot down with force to help go in little easier. The price and style makes the stiffness an issue worth working around.
Review 2 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Temperance, MI
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Very good price for Stride Rite, but...

PostedDecember 12, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3, 0-1
I bought these shoes because they were a great price and cute for my 3 year old for everyday. They were stiffer then we were use to when we bought them. I was hoping they would soften up. Months later, these shoes are still stiff and my son cannot put them on by himself like previously with other stride rite shoes.
Review 3 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Bruce

PostedDecember 7, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3
I bought these sneakers for my three year old son. They are so cute and they go great with all his outfits. They are also at a great price!
Review 4 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Velcro stops working

PostedNovember 25, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 5
These shoes are cute and cheap (for Stride Rite) and they fit just like we expected. Unfortunately, just like another reviewer said, the velcro stopped working after about 2 weeks. I tried many tricks to get the velcro to work again (cleaning out velcro, using a hair dryer to get the hooks to "curl") but to no avail. Which means they are unwearable #they just fall off my kid's feet when he tries to wear them#. Lame.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too small
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Bryant, AR
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

PostedNovember 22, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 2
Good shoe but a little stiff, which makes it harder to get into. Got it on sale, so it made it a great deal.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

I loved the look

PostedNovember 19, 2013
I loved the look of this shoe and so did my son. Also so far he has kept them on. It is great for him as he runs around ( not a lot of falls).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too small
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, GA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Finally a perfect sneaker!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 6
I bought this sneaker after going through a few "off-brand" shoes that fell apart after a week. I LOVE this shoe!! Extremely durable for an active boy! He says they are sooo comfy and wears them EVERY day! I bought a 1/2 size larger b/c of some of reviews and they fit perfect! The only thing I would say is they are a little hard to slip on b/c opening at top is a little narrow...but I would not let that deter me from buying them again in the future. Quality is excellent...just as I expected from Stride Rite. When he outgrows this pair, we will probably buy them again in the next size up!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Bruce sneakers

PostedOctober 3, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3, 10+
This is our son's first pair of "big boy" shoes. The price was right, they fit well and he seems happy to put them on. Happy with these.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Toms River, NJ
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Picky 4 year old

PostedOctober 2, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 4, 3
My picky 4 year old was so upset I could not find sneakers with Thomas the Train in his size and when I saw these, I gave up and hoped they would not cause a meltdown. Not only did they not cause a meltdown, but he loves them!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Good Shoe

PostedJuly 31, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3, 0-1
I bought these for my 3 1/2 year old. His feet are right on the border of being wide. Sometimes it measures wide and sometimes he measures medium but I ordered these because some review thought they ran a little narrow and I ordered a wide. They seem to fit well, a tiny bit wide but I think the medium would have been too narrow and hard to get on. The only thing I would like that would improve the shoe is a way to tighten and hold the elastic straps. My son loves them, by the way.
Review 11 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Excellent shoe

PostedMay 28, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 2, 3
Excellent product as always. Looks great and made well. Very happy with this shoe.
Review 12 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
1/2 Size too small
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Myself: Mother

Great Looking Shoes

PostedMay 2, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3
These shoes are beautiful and my son loved them when they arrived in the mail. He is currently wearing a 9.5 wide in the star wars light saber shoes and has plenty of room in those. My husband wanted me to order a 10.5 wide based on the reviews, but I was afraid they would be too big and we needed a second pair of shoes now. I ordered the 9.5 in the Bruce and my husband and I feel they are a bit too narrow in the back and he could use a little more room in the front to grow. They were a little hard to get on. My son didn't seem to mind and was ready to wear them immediately. But, we will be exchanging for a 10.5 wide, which I think will be perfect. This shoe is really nice and I am happy with the appearance. It looks sturdy. I am looking forward to getting a half size up so my son can enjoy them. Thanks Stride Rite for making great shoes. We travel over an hour to get to your store because we believe in your product. We are very happy customers overall.
Review 13 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from PA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

top velcro wears out quickly

PostedApril 15, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3, 0-1
Bought these for my 3.5 year old. Unfortunately, they wore out very quickly. After a month they were falling apart and the top velcro completely wore out rendering them useless because they would fall off my son's feet as we was walking. Had to but another pair of sneakers the same size...the first time stride rites wore out before he outgrew them. so very disappointed....
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar

Great fit and cute

PostedMarch 6, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 2
Great sizing chart...just be sure you print to scale. My son loves these and they look comfy. I am impressed with speed of shipping-within 3 days-but it is faster than what ups reports (which is a problem for me)...ups should match records. Great sale offered when I purchased, but I still have yet to receive the welcome coupons/packet described for being a rewards member, and would like to receive it. Such high quality shoes, but I depend on sales and coupons,
Review 15 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar

Perfect run around sneaker

PostedMarch 4, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 4
I bought this shoe for my 4 year old. We were replacing a different shoe that Stride Rite no longer carried. I love the look and style of the shoe. The size fits well but it is a bit narrow and a little snug on the top of his foot. The heavy socks he was wearing in the old shoe didn't work with this one so I bought thinner socks and they work great. My son loves these shoes and I like that they are a dark color and he has been wearing them to church with blue pants. It saves on having to get church shoes.
Review 16 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

A little difficult to get on

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3, 0-1
I overall like these shoes. However, they are a bit difficult to get on. The slot that the velcro strap goes through is just a bit too narrow so you really have to pull to open the shoes enough to put a foot into it, and the tongue is just a bit too short, so it has a tendency to get stuck below the velcro strap. But, they stay on really well, and my son likes them, so he is patient enough for me to put them on despite the difficulty.
When I first took the shoes out of the box, they seemed really stiff, but it hasn't seemed to bother my son. After wearing them some, they seem pretty bendable in the toe area.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Perfect!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 3
My 3 year old son has a wide foot & I got these in a 11.5 wide. They fit him perfectly, no trouble getting them on & he can run, jump, & climb in them. He loves them! I love stride rite shoes, they are durable & seem to be very comfortable for my "little bigfoot".
Review 18 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
Too Narrow
Wide
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Watch the width

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
What age(s) are your children? 4, 2
My son wears a 10.5 and had a hole in his flashing light spiderman shoes. So i found these on sale and purchased the normal width size 10.5 option. Unfortunately the length is fine they are just not wide enough. The Bruce is a lovely shoe, i just didn't realize it wasn't as large/wide as the Marvel range of shoes.
Review 19 for Stride Rite Bruce (Toddler)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Too small
just rite
Too big
Width
Narrow
just rite
Wide
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Gender: female
Myself: Mother

Just rite for my son

PostedOctober 16, 2012
What age(s) are your children? 5
I am a big fan of Stride Rite . My son has grown with the shoes. Now he is 5-years-old, wearing 11.5 size. I am very satisfied with this new shoes.